• Hello everybody! We have tons of new awards for the new year that can be requested through our Awards System thanks to Antifa Lockhart! Some are limited-time awards so go claim them before they are gone forever...

CLICK HERE FOR AWARDS

Help/Support ► Writing Trouble

REGISTER TO REMOVE ADS
Status
Not open for further replies.

Delsan

Killjoy Hillington
Awards
I'm not sure if you would've guessed, but I've been an aspiring writer since what, eight years old? Since then, I've written a lot of stories (usually 30-50 pages). The only problem I have is that I normally don't finish them...as in I get bored after a while and come up with another idea. This happens with almost every story because as an avid reader, I normally question how my writing compares to other authors'. When I do this, I sometimes quit writing the stories altogether. I know I shouldn't do this, but I can't help it for some reason. And I keep reading because, well, I like to, and I usually adopt another author's writing style as a way to practice my own writing.

I'm making this thread because I know there are a lot of talented writers on this site, and I'm sure at least some of you experienced this, right? If not, advice on how I should overcome this problem is welcomed. I want to be an author when I get older, and I can't let this mar my chance of actually getting published. I want to actually finish something for once.

DerringerZONE!

I'm an avid reader too and yeah, I know what you mean. There was a time when I bought piles of books and read on a daily basis that when I started writing again, I felt like my writing sucked so bad I couldn't even stomach to read my own RP post. I guess it builds up a complex in the long run, but writing to me just spurs out of nowhere... and I often find myself stuck when I have a lot of ideas coming to me, I don't even know where to begin.